The Origin of HMCRR of SA Inc.

“This Historic Motor Cycle Racing Register of South Australia was first formed in 1977, known at that time as the Classic Racing Association. The name was changed in 1986 adopting the title “Historic”, which signifies the real nature and purpose of the organisation, but the title “Classic” is still used in defining racing events which are exclusively for the machines which qualify for competition in this category”

Historic Motor Cycle Racing Register of SA Inc. – PO Box 2106, Glynde Plaza Post Office, Felixstow SA 5070

Join us on our Facebook Group for the latest updates on the club’s news and events.

Official Status

The Register is an incorporated body and is affiliated with the Motorcycling SA which is the controlling body representing Motorcycling Australia.


If you have a passion for Historic Motorcycle Racing and would like to race a historic bike you may own, our Club could be what you are looking for. Annual Membership fee is $40 for Single Membership and $50 for Family Membership. For new members there is an additional joining fee of $10. Membership will be pending until approved by the committee.

Aims and Objectives

To restore, preserve and use Motorcycles of British, European, American and Japanese manufacture up to and including December 31st 1990.


Meetings are held on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 8.00pm, the venue being Motorcycling SA, 251 The Parade, Beulah Park. Annual General Meetings are held on the 3rd Thursday of August.

Meeting Format

Monthly meetings are essentially social, with Guest Speakers on occasion. A comprehensive library of Motor Cycle Matter is kept and is available to all members.

Any member with knowledge and or general interest in restoration, building and preparing Historic machines for racing is cordially invited to be Guest Speaker at any time.


Road Racing is conducted from time to time, such events are well attended and growing in popularity. Typical circuits are Mallala Motor Sports Park and McNamara Park, Mount Gambier in South Australia and other similar tracks in other States.

Club days are held twice yearly for members. For a small fee you are able to carry out tuning adjustments to machines and to have access to the circuit for machine testing and practice.

Annually the Peter Westerman Memorial Trophy is awarded to the rider who gains the highest number of points in any one year in Historic Competition, the respective rider names being suitably engraved each year. Points are awarded as per the GCR’s for 1st, 2nd, 3rd down to 20th place in each class and overall for feature races.


All rules governing machine specification and or restrictions and rider requirements are set out in Motorcycling Australia Rule Book obtainable from Motorcycling SA and online. A special section deals exclusively with matters relating to Historic Machines. Intended riders in any competitive event must first obtain a Competition License which is issued by Motorcycling SA. Application for such license must first be authorised and signed by the Secretary of the Register.


What is “Historic” motorcycle racing all about? 
It is really directed at preserving the heritage of motorcycle racing from days gone by. To ensure that Historic motorcycle racing remains visually identifiable for spectators and representative of particular era’s of racing from earlier times, the competition is divided into machine age brackets or “period” categories for both solo machines and sidecars.

The period categories are determined as follows:


Machines built prior to December 1919 and referred to as veteran machines. Unfortunately this group of machines is exceedingly rare and not often seen at race meetings.


This category is for machines produced between 1st January 1920 and 31st December 1945; more generally referred to as vintage or pre-war bikes and are predominantly single cylinder 4 stroke machines of British or European manufacture. They are characterised by the “girder” fork front suspension systems and “primitive” or non-existent rear suspension.


For machines built between 1st January 1946 and 31st December 1962 which are commonly referred to as “classics”. These bikes are representative of the post war era when motorcycle racing was largely dominated by British and European “factory” machines in single, twin or up to four cylinder engine configurations. The latter part of this period also saw the emergence of the Japanese manufacturers in the smaller capacity classes.


This is for machines produced between 1st January 1963 and 31st December 1972, known as “post classics” and largely dominated by Japanese machines in both two stroke and four stroke multi cylinder engine configurations.


This category is for machines built between 1st January 1973 and 31st December 1982 referred to as “forgotten era”. It reflects the period of domination of Yamaha’s ‘TZ’ two strokes and the emergence of Ducati big twins and other Italian machines to do battle with big four cylinder bikes from Japan.


This is a relatively new category for machines built between 1st January 1983 and 31st December 1990 referred to as “new era”. This period attracts bikes such as Suzuki GSX1100/750, Yamaha FZR1000, Honda VFR750 Kawasaki GPX750 and a host of smaller class machines both four stroke and two stroke race machines from Japan and Europe.

Within each “period” category there are capacity classes which are identified as follows:

Ultra lightweightSoloUp to 125cc
LightweightSolo132cc to 250cc
JuniorSolo263cc to 350cc
SeniorSolo368cc to 500cc
UnlimitedSolo526cc to 1300cc (excludes period 6)
SidecarSidecarUp to 1300cc (excludes period 6)
Period 2 JuniorSoloUp to 350cc
Period 2 SeniorSoloUp to 500cc
Period 2 unlimitedSolo
Period 3 Formula 700 (Note this class is for push rod engines only and there is no capacity tolerance)Solo526cc to 700cc
Period 4 Formula 750Solo526cc to 750cc
Period 5 Formula 750Solo526cc to 750cc
Period 6 250 Production (Note: machine must have either a compliance plate fitted or supporting documentation of the year of manufacture)Solo250cc
Period 6 Formula 750Solo526cc to 750cc
Period 6 Formula 1300Solo788cc to 1300cc